Three components of love

The three components of love are as follows

Passion: Passion can be associated with either physical arousal or emotional stimulation. Passion is defined in three ways:

  1. A strong feeling of enthusiasm or excitement for something or about doing something
  2. A strong feeling (such as anger) that causes people to act in a dangerous way
  3. strong sexual or romantic feeling for someone

Intimacy: Intimacy is described as the feelings of closeness and attachment to one another. This tends to strengthen the tight bond that is shared between those two individuals. Additionally, having a sense of intimacy helps create the feeling of being at ease with one another, in the sense that the two parties are mutual in their feelings.

Intimacy is primarily defined as something of a personal or private nature; familiarity.

Commitment: Unlike the other two blocks, commitment involves a conscious decision to stick with one another. The decision to remain committed is mainly determined by the level of satisfaction that a partner derives from the relationship. There are three ways to define commitment:

  1. A promise to do or give something.
  2. A promise to be loyal to someone or something.
  3. the attitude of someone who works very hard to do or support something.

“The amount of love one experiences depends on the absolute strength of these three components, and the type of love one experiences depends on their strengths relative to each other.”¬†Different stages and types of love can be explained as different combinations of these three elements; for example, the relative emphasis of each component changes over time as an adult romantic relationship develops. A relationship based on a single element is less likely to survive than one based on two or three elements.